Skip to content

I’ve Got Friends In All The Right Places

March 16, 2010
by

About the 5th time I've used this in 3 days.

A few months back, I started writing my stupid little column for the Loyola Phoenix because I just enjoyed writing about the Hawks.  Since I was a little kid, I’ve loved this team.  Some of my earliest memories are of watching Blackhawks games in my garage with my dad.  I get all nostalgic when I see that new commercial with the kid listening to games past his bed time because that was me just a few years ago.  Through thick and thin, I predicted the Hawks to win the President’s Trophy every year (seriously. Even with LaPointe, Aucoin, and Cullimore. I never said I was a smart kid.)  So it makes me really happy when I go and see how many people have started visiting this site.

We’ve only been up and running for about 2 and a half months, but we’re growing like crazy.  There was a time not long ago where I’d get excited when 15 people came here in one day.  A lot has changed in a short period of time.  Only 15 days into the month of March, we’ve already gotten more page views than we did in all of February.  February saw an increase of about 700% over January.  If the stock market was performing like this, you can me damn certain that there would be no recession.

But I didn’t write this to brag.  I want to say thanks.  Without our readers, we’d just be screaming into an abyss.  I think most of the people I talk to on Twitter are some of the smartest hockey fans I know, and I’m glad all you Blackhawks fans care enough to educate yourself.  I don’t care if you’ve been a Hawks fan for 50 years or 5 days, if you really learn your stuff, I don’t consider you a bandwagon fan.  I love having conversations with fellow fans and I want to work to make it more of a community around here with fans interacting with each other.  There’s also a few things that I want to add here to make it better for you guys.

Finally, I want to thank ChiBlackhawks for jumping on board here.  I’d be crazy to think I’d be able to accomplish all this by myself.  Its quality writing on every single post.

So looking forward, I’m hoping to add more pictures and video, get more conversations in the comments, and bring a few more features to the site.  We’re always looking to grow and improve.  With the playoffs coming up, we hope to have some good stuff.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rich London permalink
    March 16, 2010 11:35 AM

    Do you know what the “official” problem with Campbell and what’s with The Hoss?

    • March 16, 2010 12:23 PM

      I’ve heard a few different things on Hossa ranging from shoulder to hip soreness. I don’t think its anything too serious.
      The general consensus on Campbell seems to be some mix of broken rib, clavicle, or 2nd degree concussion (and some people say its all 3 of those). Waiting on official word to figure out if it would be possible for him to come back for the playoffs at all.

  2. March 18, 2010 10:50 AM

    Thanks for the thanks and I look forward to whatever new features you put in. (Wow, so I’m a blog veteran compared to you–4 1/2 months! I still haven’t set up a stats counter, so I have no idea if I’m getting more popular…)

    I wish this blog, and mine, and many of the ones I read, had more comments, but it seems like people mostly just comment on the sites with game day threads, Puck Daddy, and a few others, and do much of their conversation on Twitter. Twitter’s a great way to communicate, but there’s nothing like spending an evening working on a blog post and then getting appreciative comments. Er…I’ll try to comment here more often!

Leave a Reply

